Reference

Centers for Poison Treatment

Internet Journal of Medical Toxicology

Int J Med Toxicol 2001; 4(2): 19


CENTERS FOR POISON TREATMENT - USA

ARIZONA

Samaritan Regional Poison Center at
Good Samaritan regional Medical Center
925 E. McDowell Road Floor 2
Phoenix, AZ 85006-2502
Phone: 602-253-3334 – Ask for Medical Toxicologist on call
Fax: 602-239-4138
Contact: Ask for Medical Toxicologist on call

CALIFORNIA

UCSD Division of Medical Toxicology
UCSD Medical Center
200 W. Arbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92103-8676
Phone: (R. Clark) 619-543-6835
Phone: (S. Williams) 858-715-6311
e-mail: rfclark@ucsd.edu
e-mail: srwilliams@ucsd.edu
Contact: Richard F. Clark, MD, FACMT
Saralyn R. Williams, MD

COLORADO

Rocky Mountain Poison & Drug Center
1010 Yosemite Circle, Suite B
Denver, CO 80230
Phone: (rapid) 303-739-1100 (office)
Pager: 800-915-0225
e-mail: rdart@rmpdc.org
Contact: Richard Dart, MD, PhD
URL: www.denverhealth.org/rmpdc.cfm
http://www.rmpdc.org

Porter Adventist Hospital
2525 S. Downing Street
Denver, CO 80210
Phone: 303-765-3800
e-mail: sdierbeck@email.msn.com
Contact: Physician on call

Toxicology Associates, P. LCC
2555 S. Downing St. Suite 260
Denver, CO 80210
Phone:303-765-3800
Fax: 303-765-3804
e-mail: kkmedtox@msn.com
Ken Kulig, MD/ Edward Cetaruk, MD
Scott Phillips, MD/Jeffrey Brent, MD, Ph.D.

CONNECTICUT

University of Connecticut
Hartford Hospital / Connecticut Children’s Medical Center
Department of Traumatology and Emergency Medicine
80 Seymour Street
Hartford CT 06102-5037
Phone: (rapid) 806-545-5411
Referral Line: 860-679-1040
Fax: 860-545-2137
e-mail: cmckay@harthosp.org
Contact: Charles McKay, MD
URL: http:/resprog.uchc.edu/md/emergency/home.html

FLORIDA

Florida Poison Information and Resource Center at Tampa
320 West Kennedy Blvd. Suite 700
Tampa, FL 33606
Phone: 813-251-6911
Fax: 813-259-0380
Contact: James Hillman, MD,

University of Florida Health Science Center
Department of Emergency Medicine
Clinical Toxicology Service
655 West 8th Street
Jacksonville, FL 32209
Phone Administration: 904-549-4465
Phone 24 hr. EM: 904-549-4480
Fax: 904-549-4069
e-mail: schauben@ufl.edu
Contacts: Thomas Kunisake, MD, FACEP, Medical Director
Jay Schauben, Pharm.D., DABAT (primary contact)
Dawn Sollee, Pharm.D., DABAT

INDIANA

Indianapolis Poison Center
I-65 at 21st Street
Indianapolis, IN 46206
Phone: 317-929-2335
Contacts: Brent Furbee MD, FACMT – bfurbee@clarian.com
Mark Kirk, MD, FACMT - mkirk@clarian.com
Mary Wermuth MD, FACMT - mwermuth@clarian.com
James Mowry, Pharm D, FABAT – jmowry@clarian.com
URL: www.calarian.com/communityservices/poison

LOUISIANA

Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center
Section of Clinical Toxicology, Department of Emergency Medicine, LSUHSC
1501 Kings Highway
P.O. Box 33932
Shreveport, LA
Phone: (rapid) 318-675-6885 / 318-362-5398
Phone: (referrals) 318-362-5398 (Louisiana Poison Control Center)
e-mail: tarnold@ems.lsumc.edu
Contacts: Thomas C. Arnold, MD
URL: www.toxicology.lsumc.edu/

MARYLAND

Maryland Poison Center
20 North Pine Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone:410-706-7604
e-mail: sdoyon@rx.umaryland.edu
Contact: Suzanne Doyon, MD
Medical Director
URL: www.pharmacy.umaryland.edu/~mpc/

MASSACHUSETTS

University of MASS. Medical Center
University Campus
55 Lake Avenue North
Worcester, MA 01655
Business Phone: 508-856-4101
Ed Phone: 508-856-3511
Phone: 508-334-1100 (ask for toxicologist on call)
Fax: 508- 856-6902
e-mail: aaronc@ummhc.org
Contacts: Toxicologists – Cynthia Aaron, MD, FACMT
Chris Linden, MD, FACMT

MICHIGAN

Detroit Medical Center
Wayne State University Toxicology
Children’s Hospital of Michigan
Regional Poison Control Center
4160 John R Suite 616
Detroit, MI 48201
Phone: 800-764-7661
Phone: 313-745-5335
Phone: (rapid) 313-796-7778
Fax: 313-745-5493
e-mail: swhite1@dmc.org
Contacts: Suzanne R. White, MD

NEW JERSEY

New Jersey Poison Information System
Newark Beth Israel Medical Center
201 Lyons Avenue
Newark, NJ 07112
Phone: (rapid) 1-800-962-1253 (NJ)
Phone: (referral) 973-926-7443
e-mail: smarcus@njpies.org
Contact: Steven Marcus, MD

NEW YORK

North Shore University Hospital
300 Community Drive
Manhasset, New York 11030
Phone: 516-562-1247
Fax: 516-562-3680
e-mail: dlee@nshs.edu
Contacts: David C. Lee, MD

NORTH CAROLINA

Carolinas Medical Center
Division of Medical Toxicology
Department of Emergency Medicine
P.O. Box 32861
Charlotte, NC 28232
Phone: 704-355-4212
Phone: 704-355-3181
Fax: 704-355-8356
e-mail: Rkers@carolinas.org
Contacts: Primary Contact – Russ Kerns, MD, FACEP
Marsha Ford, MD, FACEP, FACMT
Chris Tomaszewski, MD, FACEP
Eric Lavonas, MD, FACEP

OHIO

Children’s Hospital Medical Center
3333 Burnet Avenue
Cincinnati, OH 45229
Phone: 513-636-5111 (via drug and information center)
Contact: G. Randall Bond, MD
URL: www. cincinnatichildrens.org

University of Cincinnati
Division of Toxicology
231 Bethesda Avenue
Cincinnati, OH 45267-0769
Phone: 513-558-5281
Phone: (referrals) 512-558-5281
e-mail: edward.otten@uc.edu
Contact: Edward Otten, MD, FACMT

OREGON

Oregon Health Sciences University
Oregon Poison Center
3181 SW Sam Jackson Park Rd
Portland, OR 97201
Phone: 1-800-452-7165 (in Oregon)
Phone: 503-494-4833
Contacts: Ask for Toxicologist on call

PENNSYLVANIA

Allegheny General Hospital
Medical Toxicology Treatment Center
320 East North Ave.
Pittsburgh, PA 15212
Phone: 412-359-3131 or 412-359-3368
e-mail: fharchel@wpahs.org
Contact: Fred Harchelroad, MD
URL: www.wpahs.org

Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia &

University of Pennsylvania Medical Center Combined Program In Toxicology
34th St. & Civic Blvd
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone: 215-590-4713
Phone: (hotline) 215-590-2100
e-mail: henretig@email.chop.edu
Contacts: Frederick Henretig, MD, FACMT
Francis DeRoos, MD
Jeanmarie Perrone, MD
Kevin Osterhoudt, MD

Central PA Poison Center
Milton S. Hershey Medical Center
500 University Drive
Hershey, PA 17033
Phone:717-531-7057
e-mail: wdonovan@psghs.edu
Contacts: J. Ward Donovan, MD., Director
Keith K. Burkhart, MD, Medical Director, Fellowship Director
URL: www.centralpapoison.org

Toxicology Treatment Program
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
NE-583 Montefiore University Hospital
200 Lothrop Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15213-2582
Phone: (rapid) 412-648-6800
Phone: (referrals) 412-648-6800
e-mail: Medtox+@pitt.edu
Contact: Jawaid Akhtar, MD
URL: www.pitt.edu/~medtox/index.htm

TENNESSEE

Dr. Kevin Merigian
UT Medical Group
400 Market Blvd.
Collaierville, TN 38017
Phone: 901-853-0924
Fax: 901-861-4238 or 901-854-8187
e-mail: kevin.merigian@utmg.org
Contact: Kevin Merigian, MD

Vanderbilt University Medical Center
501 Oxford House
Nashville, TN 37232-4632
Phone: 615-936-0760
Fax: 615-936-0756
e-mail: donna.seger@mcmail.vanderbilt.edu
Contacts: Toxicologists: Donna Seger, MD/ Roy DeHart, MD
Analytical: Sheila Dawling

TEXAS

University of Texas
Southwestern Toxicology Treatment Program
5323 Harry Hines Blvd
Dallas, TX 75235-8579
Phone: (office) 214-648-2047
Phone: (rapid) 214-589-0914
Fax: 214-648-8423
e-mail: ckeyes@mednet.swmed.edu
Contacts: Christopher Keyes, MD, MPH
URL: www.swmed.edu/toxicology

UTAH

Medical Toxicology
University of Utah
Division of Emergency Medicine
1150 Moran Building
75 N. Medical Drive
Salt Lake City, UT 84132
Phone: 801-581-7504/ 801-581-2730
Phone: (referrals inpatient) 801-581-2121
Phone: (referrals outpatient) 801-581-7504
Fax: 801-585-6699
e-mail: martin.caravati@hsc.utah.edu
Contact: Martin Caravati, MD, MPH
Medical Director

VIRGINIA

Medical College of Virginia
Virginia Poison Center
401 North 12th St.
Richmond, VA 23298-0522
Phone: 804-628-3464
e-mail: jecisek@hsc.utah.edu
Contacts: James Cisek, MD
S. Rutherfoord Rose, PharmD

University of Virginia
P.O. Box 10014
Charlottesville, VA 22906-0014
Phone: (rapid)1- 800-541-1428
Phone: (referrals) 804-243-6678
Contact: Chris Holstege, MD

CENTERS FOR POISON TREATMENT - INTERNATIONAL

Hunter Area Toxicology Service
New South Wales Poisons Information Centre
Newcastle Mater Misericordiae Hospital
Locked Bag 7
Hunter Regional Mail Centre
New South Wales
AUSTRALIA
Phone: 9-011-61 2 4921 1211
Fax: 9-011-61 2 4921 1870
e-mail: adawson@hypertox.com
Contacts: Toxicologists – Andrew Dawson/ Ian Whyte/Patrick Oakely/Aidan Foy/ David Henry



Journals Home  | Past Issues | Search | Send Comments to ACMTNet

Copyright 1999-2003, American College of Medical Toxicology.