ACMT News > ATSDR Cooperative Agreement > Key Personnel ACMT-ATSDR

Key Personnel

Michael Kosnett, MD, MPH, FACMT
Project Director


Dr. Kosnett has been the ACMT Project Director/Principal Investigator for the ACMT – ATSDR Cooperative Agreements since its inception in 1999. Dr. Kosnett received his B.S. degree in Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry from Yale University in 1979, his M.D. degree from the University of California, San Francisco in 1983, and his M.P.H. degree in Environmental Health Sciences from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1988. Dr. Kosnett is a Diplomate of the American Board of Internal Medicine, the American Board of Medical Toxicology, and the American Board of Preventive Medicine (Occupational Medicine). He is an Associate Clinical Professor in the Division of Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology at the University of Colorado School of Medicine, and an Associate Adjunct Professor in the Department of Environmental and Occupational Health at the Colorado School of Public Health. He is a volunteer Attending Physician at the Rocky Mountain Poison and Drug Center.


Dr. Kosnett currently serves as the Chair of the Work Group on Lead in Consumer Products of the CDC Advisory Committee on Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention. He is a member of the Board of Scientific Counselors of the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). He served as President of the American College of Medical Toxicology (2002-2004), and was a member of the ACMT Board of Directors for ten years. In 2003, Dr. Henry Falk presented Dr. Kosnett with the ATSDR Assistant Administrator’s Award for Special Service to ATSDR.


Dr. Kosnett has a clinical and research interest in the human toxicology of heavy metals, particularly arsenic, lead, and mercury. He currently serves on several EPA federal advisory committees pertaining to lead in air, dust, and water, and he advises the World Health Organization on the management of heavy metal poisoning using chelating agents. In addition to maintaining an active consulting practice in medical toxicology and occupational and environmental medicine, he writes and lectures extensively on heavy metal toxicology.

Charles Mckay, MD, FACMT
Project Director



University of Connecticut School of Medicine
Hartford, CT

After graduating from both Dartmouth College and Medical School, Dr. McKay completed an internship and residency in Internal Medicine at Rhode Island Hospital. He completed his residency in Emergency Medicine at Denver General Hospital, and completed practice pathway preceptorships in Medical Toxicology at the Rocky Mountain and New York Poison Control Centers. 

Dr. McKay is a medical toxicologist at Hartford Hospital and the University of Connecticut School of Medicine, where he is an Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine. He is a diplomat of the ABMT and the ABMS Toxicology Subboard. He is the Associate Medical Director of the Connecticut Poison Control Center and the Director of the Toxicology Fellowship at UConn. Dr. McKay also directs a toxicology consult service at Hartford Hospital and Connecticut Children’s Medical Center (CCMC). As Medical Director of Occupational Health Services for Hartford Hospital and CCMC, he also evaluates questions of workplace safety and toxic exposure for 9,000 employees. 

He has served on the ACMT Board of Directors since 2007 and is the Past Chair of the ACMT Practice Committee. Dr. McKay is active in biopreparedness efforts at the local and state level and has helped lead ACMT’s participation in the Department of Homeland Security’s Chemical Terrorism Risk Assessment (CTRA) process. Dr. McKay is also the National Coordinator of the ACMT-ATSDR Regional Consultation Network.
Dr. McKay seeks “to develop sustainable practice opportunities for medical toxicologists.” His interests lie in clinical patient care, occupational and environmental toxicology, biopreparedness, and training of residents and fellows. He also enjoys scuba diving and distance running.  

Paul Wax, MD, FACMT
Project Director

Paul_Wax.png   University of Texas, Southwestern School of Medicine
Dallas, Texas

Dr. Wax is the Executive Director of the American College of Medical Toxicology. He received his B.A from Dartmouth College, his M.D. from the Mount Sinai School of Medicine, his Emergency Medicine training at the UCLA Hospitals, and his Medical Toxicology training at Bellevue Medicine Center / New York University. He is Board-certified in both Medical Toxicology and Emergency Medicine, and is a Fellow of the American College of Medical Toxicology. 

Along with his part time role as the Executive Director of ACMT, Dr. Wax is a Clinical Professor in Surgery (Emergency Medicine) at the University of Texas, Southwestern School of Medicine where he is a member of the Section of Medical Toxicology and Director of the Medical Toxicology Clinic. Before joining ACMT in 2008 as its Executive Director, and the University of Texas Southwestern in 2006 as a part-time faculty member, Dr. Wax had faculty appointments in the Departments of Emergency Medicine at the University of Rochester School of Medicine from 1991-2001 and the University of Arizona School of Medicine from 2001-2006. Dr. Wax previously served on the Board of Directors of ACMT from 1998-2008 serving as ACMT President from 2006-2008. During this tenure he chaired the ACMT Education Committee from 1998-2002. From 2002-2006 Dr. Wax served as the National Director of ACMT's Consultation Network to support the ATSDR Regional Offices and was co-founder of ACMT’s Chemical Agent of Opportunity course. From 1997-2006 Dr. Wax also served as one of the American Board of Emergency Medicine’s appointee’s on the Medical Toxicology Subboard. During this time Dr. Wax served as Editor of the Medical Toxicology Board Certification Examination as well as Chairman of the Subboard, and was also the primary author of the 2004 Core Content of Medical Toxicology. Dr. Wax has also served as a consultant to the Centers for Disease Control NCEH’s Division of Laboratory Sciences and was a member of NCEH/ATSDR Board of Scientific Counselors from 2006-2008.

Lynn Lancaster, MPH
Program Manager

    Lynn Lancaster is ACMT's ATSDR grant manager.