Pediatric Environmental Health Specialty Unit (PEHSU) Program: Regional Unit Funding Opportunity

The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and American College of Medical Toxicology (ACMT), in cooperation with the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR) and the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) announce a funding opportunity to establish regional Pediatric Environmental Health Specialty Units (PEHSUs) in US Federal regions 1 – 10.

The range of environmental health hazards that potentially impact the health of children, as well as women and men of childbearing age, is huge. The PEHSU Program was created by ATSDR in collaboration with EPA in 1998 to provide expertise in the relatively new but growing area of pediatric environmental health.  The AAP and ACMT applied for and were awarded cooperative agreements with ATSDR to serve as the PEHSU National Program Office, with AAP serving Eastern Operations and ACMT serving Western Operations.  The National Program Office award periods began September 30, 2014 and continue through September 29, 2019.

The overarching PEHSU Program purpose is to: (1) Increase awareness of clinical preventive environmental health services through development of clinician outreach education capabilities regionally for the purpose of reducing environmental health threats to children; (2) Expand national and regional relationships and approaches that enhance continuity in pediatric and reproductive environmental medicine.

A key component of the PEHSU Program is the establishment of regional PEHSUs.  Collectively, the PESHU regional sites will form the PEHSU Network and serve as a national children’s environmental health resource for pediatricians, other pediatric and reproductive health providers, Federal staff, public health officials at the state and local levels, and the public.  The start date for regional PEHSU activities under the current cooperative agreement will be February 1, 2015.

Additional information, eligibility requirements, application guidelines, and contact information are contained in the region-specific Request for Proposal (RFP) documents available here:


PEHSU National Program Office – Eastern Operations

Federal Regions 1 – 5

Alabama, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, US Virgin Islands, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin

PEHSU Regional Unit RFP – Eastern Operations [Download Link]


PEHSU National Program Office – Western Operations

Federal Regions 6 - 10

Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Marshall Islands, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Palau, South Dakota, Texas, US Territory of Guam, Utah, Washington, Wyoming

PEHSU Regional Unit RFP – Western Operations [Download Link]

Model Regional Budget for Western PEHSUs


CDC Budget Guidelines

New!       PEHSU West RFP Information Session
Thursday, December 11, 2014
2:30 pm  |  Eastern Standard Time  |  1 hr
Join by phone
Access code: 624 725 088

Key Dates

December 8, 2014            Letter of Intent deadline (requested/optional)

January 5, 2015               Application deadline

January 16, 2015             Award announcement anticipated

February 1, 2015              Regional PEHSU Project Period Begins