About ACMT > Membership Benefits > Grants & Travel Awards > Annual Scientific Meeting Travel Scholarships > Travel Scholarship for Underrepresented Minority Medical Trainees


Next Deadline for Applications: October 1, 2018

The Minority Student Travel Award was established to encourage underrepresented minority medical trainees (medical students or residents) to attend the annual ACMT Annual Scientific Meeting. Initially funded through ACMT’s cooperative agreement with ATSDR, this award provides the opportunity to attend the ACMT annual meeting. One recipient will be chosen each year. The award of $1,500 will provide funds to support travel, meeting registration, meals and lodging. After registration, a total of $925 (award minus registration cost) will be available for travel reimbursement. Open to US residents only. 

Application Procedures
The applicant should provide the following information:
  1. A current curriculum vitae
  2. A letter of interest/intent
  3. A letter of support from an advisor or residency program director
Please send all information to the following address:

Email:  (preferred)

or by mail to:
American College of Medical Toxicology
Attention: Awards Committee
10645 N. Tatum Blvd., Suite 200-111
Phoenix, AZ 85028

Past Recipients

2018 Eddie Garcia, MD
Emergency Medicine Resident, Rutgers New Jersey Medical School
Sarah Ann Anderson, MD, PhD
Pediatric Resident, Morgan Stanley Childrens Hospital of New York Presbyterian Hospital
Tricia Smith, MD
Emergency Medicine Resident, University of Connecticut
Jason Holmes, MD
Emergency Medicine Resident, Emory University
Peter Akpunonu, MD
Emergency Medicine Resident, University of Kansas
Medical Toxicology Fellowship, Oregon Health & Science University, 2015-2017
Cynthia D. Santos, MD
Emergency Medicine Residency, Mount Sinai School of Medicine
Medical Toxicology Fellowship, Emory/CDC, 2015-2017
2012 Joshua M. Jauregui, MD
Emergency Medicine Residency, Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University
2011 Jennea A. Correia, MD
Emergency Medicine Residency, Naval Medical Center Portsmouth, VA
Benjamin Orozco, MD
Emergency Medicine Residency, Hennepin County Medical Center
Medical Toxicology Fellowship, Hennepin Regional Poison Center, 2011-2013