Dr. Michael Shannon Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Travel Award

Award: 2023 ACMT Annual Scientific Meeting Registration and Travel Reimbursement
Number of Awards Available: 1
Application Deadline: November 1, 2022
Application Restrictions: Open to US residents only

Award Overview

This travel award was established to encourage medical trainees (medical students or residents), who self-identify as members of any underrepresented group, to attend ACMT’s Annual Scientific Meeting. Initially funded through ACMT’s cooperative agreement with ATSDR, this award is now funded entirely by the Medical Toxicology Foundation.

The awardee will be recognized at the 2023 ACMT Annual Scientific Meeting & Symposium in San Diego, CA, March 31 – April 2, 2023. The award, valued at $1,500, will provide registration to the Annual Scientific Meeting and fund reimbursement to support travel and lodging. 

Award Eligibility

Any medical student or resident who self-identifies as a member of an underrepresented group is eligible to apply.

Application Procedures

Applicant is required to provide the following information:

  1. Current curriculum vitae
  2. Letter documenting verification of employment
  3. Letter of support from an advisor or residency program director
  4. Letter of nomination from a current ACMT member (if program director is and ACMT member, that letter will suffice
  5. 1–2-page essay describing the applicant’s interest in and background in medical toxicology


Submit application materials in .pdf format via email to  with 'DEI Award' in the subject line. 


Applications will be reviewed by a sub-committee of the MTF board and final decisions will be made at the discretion of the MTF Board of Directors. The board reserves the right to make no award if there are no applications of sufficient merit. 

2022 Recipient


Demi Galindo, MD
Resident, University of Rochester 

Past Recipients

No Award Given.


Emmanuel Quaidoo, MD
Emergency Medicine Resident, University of California, San Francisco

David Bala, MD
Emergency Medicine Resident, University of Kentucky

Eddie Garcia, MD
Emergency Medicine Resident, Rutgers New Jersey Medical School

Sarah Ann Anderson, MD, PhD
Pediatric Resident, Morgan Stanley Children's Hospital of New York Presbyterian Hospital

Tricia Smith, MD
Emergency Medicine Resident, University of Connecticut

Jason Holmes, MD
Emergency Medicine Resident, Emory University

Peter Akpunonu, MD
Emergency Medicine Resident, University of Kansas
Medical Toxicology Fellowship, Oregon Health & Science University, 2015-2017

Cynthia D. Santos, MD
Emergency Medicine Residency, Mount Sinai School of Medicine
Medical Toxicology Fellowship, Emory/CDC, 2015-2017

Joshua M. Jauregui, MD
Emergency Medicine Residency, Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University

Jennea A. Correia, MD
Emergency Medicine Residency, Naval Medical Center Portsmouth, VA

Benjamin Orozco, MD
Emergency Medicine Residency, Hennepin County Medical Center
Medical Toxicology Fellowship, Hennepin Regional Poison Center, 2011-2013