Medical Toxicology Foundation Travel Award: Michael P. Spadafora Award

Michael P. Spadafora Award to David Toomey, MD:

This award has been given annually to a junior resident in an ACGME- or AOA-accredited program since Dr. Spadafora’s death 2 decades ago. Michael was an academic emergency physician and medical toxicologist dedicated to resident education.

The SAEM Foundation has also contributed an award to encourage residents to pursue Medical Toxicology training. A number of the previous awardees are currently well into their medical toxicology careers. The committee this year had a notably difficult time selecting a single awardee from a field of seven candidates, with all candidates receiving at least one top-tier ranking from the judges.

David Toomey from the Combined Massachusetts General Hospital/Brigham and Women’s Hospital Emergency Medicine Residency is this year’s recipient. His perspective on the interweaving of history, clinical assessment, biochemistry, physiology, diagnostic testing, and imagination aligns well with medical toxicology practice. Take a moment to speak with and congratulate Dr. Toomey while at ASM in New York next month.