Dr. Michael Shannon Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Travel Award

Quick Info

Michael Shannon, MD, FACMT

2023 ACMT Annual Scientific Meeting Registration and Travel Reimbursement

Number of Awards Available:

Application Deadline:
November 12, 2022

Application Restrictions:
Open to US residents only

Award Overview

This travel award was established to encourage medical trainees (medical students or residents), who self-identify as members of any underrepresented group, to attend ACMT’s Annual Scientific Meeting. The award honors the memory and contributions of Dr. Michael Shannon, an ACMT Past President who passed in 2009. Dr. Shannon was the first African American to serve as a division chief at Children's Hospital Boston and served as chief of both the emergency medicine and clinical pharmacology departments.

Initially funded through ACMT’s cooperative agreement with ATSDR, this award is now funded entirely by the Medical Toxicology Foundation.

The awardee will be recognized at the 2023 ACMT Annual Scientific Meeting & Symposium in San Diego, CA, March 31 – April 2, 2023. The award, valued at $1,500, will provide registration to the Annual Scientific Meeting and fund reimbursement to support travel and lodging. 

Award Eligibility

Any medical student or resident who self-identifies as a member of an underrepresented group is eligible to apply.

Application Procedures

Applicant is required to provide the following information:

  1. Current curriculum vitae
  2. Letter documenting verification of employment
  3. Letter of support from an advisor or residency program director
  4. Letter of nomination from a current ACMT member (if program director is and ACMT member, that letter will suffice
  5. 1–2-page essay describing the applicant’s interest in and background in medical toxicology


Submit application materials in .pdf format to awards@acmt.net with 'DEI Award' in the subject line. 


The Awards Committee evaluates application submissions. Recipient recommendations are subject to review by the MTF Board of Directors. The Board reserves the right to make no award if there are no applicants of sufficient merit.

Previous Recipients

Demi Galindo, MD
Resident, University of Rochester 


No Award Given


Emmanuel Quaidoo, MD
Emergency Medicine Resident, University of California, San Francisco


David Bala, MD
Emergency Medicine Resident, University of Kentucky


Eddie Garcia, MD
Emergency Medicine Resident, Rutgers New Jersey Medical School


Sarah Ann Anderson, MD, PhD
Pediatric Resident, Morgan Stanley Children's Hospital of New York Presbyterian Hospital


Tricia Smith, MD
Emergency Medicine Resident, University of Connecticut


Jason Holmes, MD
Emergency Medicine Resident, Emory University


Peter Akpunonu, MD
Emergency Medicine Resident, University of Kansas; Medical Toxicology Fellowship, Oregon Health & Science University, 2015-2017


Cynthia D. Santos, MD
Emergency Medicine Residency, Mount Sinai School of Medicine; Medical Toxicology Fellowship, Emory/CDC, 2015-2017


Joshua M. Jauregui, MD
Emergency Medicine Residency, Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University


Jennea A. Correia, MD
Emergency Medicine Residency, Naval Medical Center Portsmouth, VA


Benjamin Orozco, MD
Emergency Medicine Residency, Hennepin County Medical Center; Medical Toxicology Fellowship, Hennepin Regional Poison Center, 2011-2013